Meet the Judges
Alex Kingsbury


Alex Kingsbury is a chemical engineer who currently consults to industry on metal additive manufacturing, also known as 3D printing. Formerly Director of CSIRO’s additive manufacturing centre ‘Lab 22’, Kingsbury has long worked at the nexus between industry and R&D. During her time at Lab 22 she implemented an industry initiative that gave manufacturing businesses access and training to metal 3D printers, and provided co-working lab space. She now consults to companies in Australia and overseas that are already active in 3D printing, are considering moving into that technology space, or looking at investing in it.

John Wilson


Professor John Wilson is Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology at Swinburne University of Technology in Melbourne and has 30 years’ experience in industry and academia. He has a research background in earthquake engineering and structural dynamics and has consulted widely in these fields. He is the past joint recipient of four Chapman Medals and one Warren Medal. He was the Victorian Division Chairman of Engineers Australia in 2002, spokesperson for the Victorian Infrastructure Report Cards since 2005, and Chairman of Judges for the Victorian Engineering Excellence Awards since 2011.

John Immelman


Dr Ian Oppermann is the NSW Government’s Chief Data Scientist and CEO of the NSW Data Analytics Centre. With 25 years’ experience in ICT, he has led organisations with more than 300 people, delivering products and outcomes that have impacted hundreds of millions of people globally. He has held senior management roles in Europe and Australia as Director for Radio Access Performance at Nokia, Global Head of Sales Partnering (network soft ware) at Nokia Siemens Networks, and then Divisional Chief and Flagship Director at CSIRO. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Engineers Australia, the IEEE, and of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Professor Campbell


Dr Bronwyn Evans has over 30 years’ experience as an engineering executive in the areas of power generation, engineering education, standards creation and medical devices. She is CEO of Standards Australia and Vice President (Finance) of the International Standards Organisation. She is Chair of MTPConnect, the Industry Growth Centre for Medical Technologies and Pharmaceuticals and a member of the Australia-Japan Foundation. Past Board positions included John Holland Limited, Medical Technology Association of Australia Board and Robogals Advisory Board. In 2016 she was recognised as one of Australia’s 100 Women of Influence.

Prof Archie Johnson


Professor James Trevelyan is an engineer, educator and researcher with 45 years of experience and has recently become a start-up entrepreneur. He is CEO of Close Comfort, a tech start-up introducing new energy saving air conditioning technology to Pakistan. For 41 years he taught design, computer methods, project management and sustainability at The University of Western Australia. He is best known internationally for pioneering research that resulted in sheep shearing robots from 1975 till 1993. He and his students produced the first industrial robot that could be remotely operated via the internet in 1994.

Dr Michael Myers


John Immelman is the former Managing Director of Endress+Hauser Australia and was responsible for establishing the Australian operation in 2001. He qualified as an Electrical Engineer at the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg in 1971. Immelman is the current Chairman of the Institute of Instrumentation, Control and Automation NSW and the founder and ex-President of the Profibus Association Australia. He has extensive experience in the area of sensors for manufacturing and automation as well as the use of instrumentation in process industries. He has held senior positions in Lotus, Tetra and SPL.